Israeli spicy tomato poached eggs: shakshuka

Both my weekend mornings started out with my favorite peach ginger tea, reading by natural sunlight, snuggled up with my two sleeping loves (that would by my cat and my boyfriend). I’m not sure it gets any better when I wake up at 7 and normal people are still sleeping.

This weekend involved some serious things: moving my boyfriend (in with me), The Casual Vacancy by J.K. Rowling (read it! Her story telling is just as capturing sans wands, witches, and wizards!), and Sunday late lunch by my lonesome in an apartment full of new found treasures like these:

20121001-091024.jpg
Yes, rasta colored, over-my-knee, (snowboarding) socks. Real.

While treasure hunting in my apartment, I also made a new recipe to treasure, inspired by smitten kitchen and her beautiful post and recipe about shakshuka, an Israeli tomato poached egg recipe. I love poached eggs and I’ve poached them in tomato soup before here and loved it so I was excited to try this version. And it totally was amazing! I made it for 1-2 people for just myself and have left over spicy tomato goodness over quinoa to eat alone or with another egg – maybe scrambled although poaching is the superior method (no added oils, fats, or salts for cooking!). Here it is and it is spicy! Adjust as necessary:

Shakshuka
Ingredients:
~ 1 tablespoon coconut oil for cooking
1/2 small onion diced/sliced
1 jalapeño, seeded and diced – USE GLOVES OR A PLASTIC BAG, for less spice use an Anaheim pepper
2-4 cloves garlic, smashed with flat side of knife then sliced
~14 oz can diced tomatoes (I used with green peppers, not necessary but was good)
1/2 can water
1 tablespoon paprika
1 tsp ground cumin
Sea salt to taste
2 eggs
1/4 quinoa, prepare according to box
Sprinkle of Parmesan or feta
Torn or chopped flat leaf parsley to taste (really good for getting rid of heavy metals)

Preparation:
1) heat coconut oil over medium heat, add onions and peppers and cook till translucent, stirring often, about 8-10 minutes
2) add garlic, paprika, and cumin and cook another 2-4 minutes till garlic is soft and fragrant
3) add can of diced tomatoes and half can of water, simmer for 15-25 until thickened – I added a sprinkle of Parm after 15 minutes, cook quinoa, if using, during this time
4) crack eggs onto surface of tomato mixture and poach for 5-7 minutes, basting (covering) the whites with mixture, careful of the yolks.
5) top with cheese and parsley

20121001-094125.jpg
6) serve: over quinoa, with pita, with tortillas, over rice, etc etc. I ate it over quinoa with just one tortilla as a splurge
7) since its late afternoon, also have a Fat Tire Amber Ale to soothe the spice!

20121001-094145.jpg

Also, today (October 1) is National Vegetarian Day – hoorah!

20121001-094228.jpg

One thought on “Israeli spicy tomato poached eggs: shakshuka

Leave a Reply

