Avocado Pesto. What?

That is what I thought when I first read the two blog entries about a pasta sauce inspired by avocados – Oh She Glows and you eatin’ nice (Google ’em). I’ve decided to call this an avocado pesto as opposed to an Alfredo or something else due to the basil in it. In future forays into raw avocado pesto, I may try adding some sort of nut or lemon thyme as well as the basil – both from my new herb garden!!

20110627-085150.jpg

It sort of looks like guacamole pasta, which, it sort of is, but be brave and dive in! The flavors and colors are so bright and spring/summer that you’ll feel sunny from the inside out. Avocado has been touted for it’s “good fat and oil” for skin and hair, so really eating this can just be part of your beauty regimen right??

Avocado Pesto
Ingredients: makes 1-2 servings
1/2 ripe avocado
1 clove garlic (N.B. I LOVE garlic, so please adjust to your liking)
Juice and zest from 1/2 lemon (zest is essential! Buy a zester)
1/2-1 Tablespoon olive oil
1/8-1/4 cup basil, I used 5 small leaves from my herb garden – garden fresh is superior to dried or store bought fresh, I learned it takes 20 seconds for a fresh picked herb’s flavor to start changing
Salt
Fresh ground pepper
1-2 servings pasta – use a spaghetti noodle or similar

Preparation:
1) boil water, season with salt, and cook pasta according to package directions
2) in a food processor (I used my Cuisinart Mini Prep), combine garlic, olive oil, and lemon juice. Pulse/process until chopped and the oil and juice are combined
3) add the avocado, salt, and basil, process until mostly smooth
4) your pasta should be done about the same time, strain, put on plate, add the green sauce
5) finish with fresh ground pepper and fab lemon zest
6) try not to like the prep bowl or your plate (unless no one is watching)

20110627-084653.jpg

I’d say to enjoy this fresh pasta with a bright white wine – pinot gris/grigio or an unoaked or lightly oaked Chardonnay like Pacific Ridge Vineyards. Happy eating my friends 🙂

Leave a Reply

