Carrot Ginger Rice for Lunch

After a weekend filled with riding with Smash and London (check out our barn and trainer! http://surfsideshowjumping.net/), lunch dates, horse show, and mani/pedi’s without much cooking tonight I realized I didn’t have anything to take with me for lunch tomorrow and was looking for something easy and delicious to use up my farmer’s market carrots. What I decided to do turned out to satisfy all these requirements AND is whole and healthy 🙂 Super easy, I made it while watching an episode of Charmed – who doesn’t love a good witch show? Ok, don’t judge me…

Charmed Carrot Ginger Rice
Ingredients: lunch serving for one!
1/2 cup brown rice
1 medium carrot, peeled and sliced
1 cup veggie stock – I use Knorr cubes or Better Than Boullion Veggie (or make your own as these can be high in salt!)
1 inch fresh ginger, peeled then zested into the rice
1-2 tsp nutritional yeast

Preparation:
1) prep 1 cup veggie stock and bring to boil
2) add carrots and rice, zest ginger over top, stir in nutrition yeast
3) reduce heat to very low and simmer covered for however long your rice takes – around 45 minutes, check periodically to see if you need to add more liquid
4) fluff with a fork and set it or throw it in a travel container to eat cold or reheat at work!

20110731-100054.jpg

NB: while I am not a proponent of microwave usage, I do love a hot lunch 😦

Anyway, do what you do, it’s your world I’m just blogging in it! Happy eating!

Leave a Reply

