baking fail: fiasco or fab?

Monday I read the Blondies post by Joy the Baker and was suddenly inspired to do what Nate had been asking me to do for a looooong time. Bake! I’m not a baker. I’m unnaturally bad at baking. I make batter, I bake it, I usually get sick of it half-way there, then can’t wait to give it away. I have no idea why! If someone else presents me with their baked goods, I’ll eat much more than my fair share, but cookies I made myself. Meh, I’ll pass. What?

Also, so many bowls, pans, measuring devices, spoons, spatulas…

20121010-100115.jpg

Good thing dishes aren’t my assigned household duty.

Anyway, I was taken with the idea of a blonde brownie stirred up with jelly or jam and adding toffee. Not wanting to go to the store, I used peach preserves and butterscotch chips that I already had (why? I don’t know). And I’m baking away, they smell delicious, come out of the oven to cool

20121010-100405.jpg
except someone just couldn’t wait to taste them… But then! Disaster. The look on his face said it all – they were awful? Salty? Need to be immediately thrown away? No? Then what? So I took a bite. Instead of being sweet and a little chewy like a normal blondie/brownie they were crumbly, almost bready, sort of like a sweet biscuit or a scone. What had I done? My immediate reaction was less than ladylike, but upon reflection, these little squares were just begging for some more jam slathered on or to be dunked in coffee. Thanks, Ashley.

So, really, what had I done? Oh, nothing, just added 3/4 of a cup LESS brown sugar than the recipe called for. How did that even happen? I have no idea. Oh, and I 100% SKIPPED the salt. Honestly. Who does that? This girl.

Butterscotch Peach Sweet Biscuit Thing
Ingredients:
1 cup gluten-free all purpose flour
1/2 tsp baking powder
1/4 tsp baking soda
1/4 tsp salt
1/4 tsp ground cinnamon
1 stick unsalted butter
1 cup 1/4 cup packed brown sugar
1 egg
1 tsp ++ pure vanilla extract
1/2 cup butterscotch chips
Peach preserves

Prep:
1) preheat oven to 350 degrees
2) line 8×8 baking dish with foil, grease with coconut oil, dust with gluten-free flour
3) combine flour, baking soda, baking powder, cinnamon, and salt
4) melt butter, remove from heat, stir in brown sugar till dissolved, then add the egg and vanilla and combine well
5) fold butter/sugar mixture into flour mixture until just combined, add the butterscotch chips and give one final stir
6) pour batter into pan, and top with three dollops peach preserves and swirl through using a butter knife – or whatever.
7) bake for 20-25 minutes until edges pull away from pan. Let cool. Eat!

20121010-101944.jpg

I, clearly, have no idea what I’m doing.

20121010-102240.jpg

Want to know a secret? It’s totally ok to fail. Make the best of it. Try again.

3 thoughts on “baking fail: fiasco or fab?

  1. Pingback: OMG apple tart with salted caramel « It's A Wonderful {Vegetarian} Life

  2. Pingback: Galapoagos 2012 « gather.

Leave a Reply

