OMG apple tart with salted caramel

20121025-105600.jpg

Oh. My. Gosh. Did Alex and I actually pull of Deb at SmittenKitchen’s mosaic apple tart?? We DID!! And it was DELICIOUS! I just had to start with a picture of it because it just turned out so pretty. As we’ve established, I’m not much of a baker, but I swear this is so easy. Please go apple picking then make this. Then make it again. Because that’s what Alex and I are gonna do!!

A big thanks to Alex (London, Alexandra, Alejandra, Jandra…), making this with you made it even better! Maybe that’s what all my baking has been missing, company in the kitchen. I’m notoriously terrible at sharing my kitchen (it’s small and I can be particular), but I think I’ve been inspired to open up the space a bit 🙂

Mosaic Apple Tart with Salted Caramel
Ingredients:
Tart:
I package puff pastry, defrosted (I used the only one Vons had- Pepperidge Farms, if you find a healthier or gluten-free one, by all means!)
3 large or 4 medium apples – we had a TON left over… So plan accordingly to dip the extras in the caramel. Yowza, another dessert in itself!
2 tablespoons (unsalted, but I used salted on accident) butter – cold, diced into tiny bits
2 tablespoons sugar

Caramel;
1/4 cup sugar
2 tablespoons (unsalted, but I used salted) butter
1/4 teaspoon sea salt, easy or leave out if using salted butter
2 tablespoons heavy cream

Preparation: preheat oven to 400
1) on a floured surface, roll pasty dough to fit your pan 11×15 or so – cookie sheet, jelly roll, what have you. Line the pan with parchment paper and place dough on pan
2) meanwhile have your friend peel and core the apples in whatever way you like – Alex used a peeler and we used paring knives to core. Then thinly slice or mandolin (for perfect slices) the apples. Fan them on the pastry so they overlap a bit, Deb says 3/4 apple shows, I say just make sure they over lap.
3) sprinkle with 2 tablespoons sugar, dot with 2 tablespoons cold butter, bake for 30 minutes. Pop any pastry dough bubbles while baking.
4) 20 minutes into baking, melt the sugar in a sauce pan (3-5 minutes), cook sugar another minute or two till caramel colored. Remove from hear and combine the salt and butter. Return to heat, add the cream, stir continuously till you have a rich caramel, max another minute or two, set aside.
5) take out tart, leave oven on, brush entire tart (including edges) liberally with caramel. Return to oven for 5-10 minutes till caramel bubbles. Feasting on leftover slices and caramel
6) remove tart, let cool (if you can wait!), cut and serve with French vanilla ice cream (and wine) or tea and coffee (and wine)

20121025-111710.jpg
I will someday try paleOMG‘s caramel made if dates and report back. I swear.

Enjoy, and don’t tell the nutritionist who lives here what we did, ok?

Leave a Reply

