spinach and artichoke heart lasagna tolls

Part two of my Pinterest inspired dinner: Lasagna Rolls inspired by Never Trust A Skinny Cook. I had to change it up to suit the likes/dislikes of my household, and there are many. I don’t like big, stringy pieces of cooked spinach, Nate doesn’t like ricotta (what?), we both really like cheese but I cannot continue to go cows milk cheese crazy like I have been, I needed to add at least something besides cheese and spinach. So here’s what happened and they’re SO GOOD. They are also remarkably easy: to make, serve (no messy square cutting and lifting), eat, and portion out for leftovers (with some Cauliflower Cheese Sticks, naturally).

To make this healthier and gluten-free, try using large zucchini, thinly sliced instead of the noodles! They should roll up the same way 🙂 if I can find yellow squash that fit the size requirements I’ll definitely be trying it!

Spinach and Artichoke Heart Lasagna Rolls
Ingredients:
6-10 lasagna noodles or thinly sliced large zucchini
2 handfuls (half a TJ’S bag) organic spinach
3 cloves garlic roughly chopped
A dab of butter/evoo/coconut oil
3-5 artichoke hearts, I found fresh steamed ones in the fridge section at TJ’s instead of canned or doing the work myself – idea: make artichokes as an appetizer then use the hearts for this? Maybe. Timing might only work if you are Ashley and own a pressure cooker
1 cup/hearty handful mozzarella
A little bit of Parmesan
Red sauce, white sauce, pesto, whatever you want
Top with more cheese if you must (I did, but very sparingly)

Preparation: pre-heat oven to 350 (or lower to 350 after baking your cauliflower cheese sticks base!)
1) boil lasagna noodles till basically done, make sure they don’t stick by just moving them around a bit, lay out and set aside. If using zucchini just thinly slice it (easiest on a mandolin) and set aside
2) sauté chopped garlic till golden, add spinach and wilt
3) dump in food processor (no stringy spinach in this kitchen!) with artichoke hearts and pulse till its all combined, add cheese and any desired pepper or seasoning and pulse again till combined
4) spoon mixture all along noodle then roll it up and place in slightly oiled casserole dish
5) cover with sauce and cheese
6) bake at 350 for 30-40 minutes (can finish baking off your cauliflower cheese sticks here)
7) Try not to burn your tongue while you eat it as soon as it comes out of the oven

20121108-093409.jpg

I had wine with this. A Zinfandel from Boccali’s Vineyard. Cheers!

One thought on “spinach and artichoke heart lasagna tolls

  1. Love the shout out to my pressure cooker 🙂 I highly recommend everyone owning a 60 year old pressure cooker – it’s my favorite thing in my kitchen!

Leave a Reply

