Galapoagos 2012

Finally, finally, finally a post about my epic trip to the Galapagos! Don’t worry, I’m not writing it on the plane to Costa Rica. That’d be weird. Yep.
Galapagos 2012
2 travelers, 5 airports, 7 islands, 10 days, to celebrate 25 years on 12/12/12 at the Equator. Yes, I have the most awesome mom on the planet. And let me tell you, we did it in style. Top notch flying then sailing around the islands with Linblad (adventure travel cruises) on the National Geographic Voyager with 90 of our new closest adventure buddies. Unsurprisingly people my age were in the vast minority, and that suited me just fine as I was there to see some nature and spend quality time with Mom. Our adventures includes daily stretching(mom), yoga(me), hikes, snorkeling (the water is chilly Pacific water), zodiac (fancy dinghy) rides, all led by naturalists licensed by the Ecuadorian government (Ecuador owns the Galapagos). We even made friends with one of my favorite lab rats from CSI Las Vegas. Magic all around.
Enough words. Mom took literally thousands of photos on land and underwater. Here are some of my faves:
yes, I'm WAY too close.  These guys were the inspiration for ET

yes, I’m WAY too close to the 500 lb Giant Tortoise. These guys were the inspiration for ET

 

aka the Masked Booby with a little baby booby

Nazca Booby aka the Masked Booby with a little baby booby

 

rare blonde Red Footed Booby nearest us and regular Red Footed Booby further.  My mom and I are very intrigued.

rare blonde Red Footed Booby nearest us and regular Red Footed Booby further. My mom and I are very intrigued.

 

a close up of the intriguing red foot

a close up of the intriguing red foot

Galapagos Sea Lion just nappin'

Galapagos Sea Lion just nappin’

who me?

who me?

getting some knowledge dropped.  for real.

getting some knowledge dropped. for real.

 

so, just a little of what I got to see, not to mention about 8 million other birds, some iguanas, the Blue Footed Booby, Galapagos Fur Seals, fishes, sharks, Manta Rays…. In short, you should probably just hop a plane to these amazing islands.

 

I know, I know, here is where I insert a recipe that I learned or enjoyed on said Galapagos voyage.  Honestly, the food got me through, the real stand outs were soups I had to special order from the kitchen (of which my own versions are posted/are upcoming) and the Cassava root rolls of which I was assured I’d never be able to replicate.  I took them at their word.  They are the experts after all, and I’m no baker – clearly. There you have it, my lovelies.

I think traveling, wherever you can, takes you out of your comfort zone and pushes you to accept the reality beyond the one you create.  Take your loved ones with you and share the experience – they’re richer that way.  Even if that means taking/sharing through technology.  I was without internet or other connection my entire trip, and while I value that time with my mom so much, I came back feeling like a rock in a river – everyone in my life had kept moving and living but I had taken a pause while they flowed around me.  Partially awesome because it forced me to reassess, partially not awesome because an object at rest wishes to stay at rest.  You get my drift?

I wish you great travels near and far with decent wireless internet.  Costa Rica coming soon.

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

