chipotle fig glazed lentil walnut loaf

You want some truth? I’m a bit of a food blog addict. I love them. And when I find a new one I obsessively cook from it. Today it’s another one of Angela’s recipes: glazed lentil walnut apple loaf! Mmmm it was delicious. I think Nate liked it more than I did!

My favorite meatloaf recipe is Ashley’s stepdad’s and it is the only meatloaf I have ever liked. So guess it’s not my favorite, it’s my only. Someday I’ll make a lentil version. Someday soon. Until then, enjoy my version of of this sweet/savory lentil loaf straight from the oven or maybe even in a sandwich. Nate did both.

I halved the recipe and tweaked the glaze. I’ll make the real version someday. Someday has a lot of real versions of loaf to account for.

chipotle fig glazed lentil walnut loaf
Ingredients:
Loaf-
1/2 cup uncooked lentils (1.5 – 2 cups water)
1/2 cup walnuts, chopped small and toasted
1.5 T flax seed meal and 1/4 cup water
1/2 cup diced celery (two stalks)
1/2 cup grated carrots (1-2 small)
1/3 of a firm, sweet apple, peeled and “grated” (mine more… applesauced but it’s cool)
Baby handful of raisins
1/4 gluten free flour of choice
1/3-1/2 cup breadcrumbs (I used pistachio flour)
1/2 tsp poultry seasoning
S/P to taste
Red pepper flakes, to taste

Glaze-
1/4 cup ketchup
1/2 T pure maple syrup (optional)
1 T fig butter
1 T balsamic vinegar
1 tsp (or to taste) chipotle powder
Alternatively you could use 1/2-1 chipotle pepper if you want to whiz your glaze through a food processor

Prep: preheat oven to 325
1) combine lentils and water, bring to a boil then simmer uncovered for 40-45, over-cooking them slightly. Mush them up a bit when they’re done for binding the loaf
2) spread the walnuts on a baking sheet and toast for 8 minutes, then increase oven to 350F
3) while the lentils cook and walnuts roast, mix the flax sees meal with water and set aside, do all the required dicing/grating, and sauté the onion and garlic for 5 minutes with a little salt, then add celery, carrots, apple, and raisins and cook for 5 more minutes. Mix all the glaze ingredients
4) in a large bowl, combine all the ingredients
5) line a loaf pan with parchment paper and firmly press the mixture in. Really firmly. Really, really firmly.
6) top with 1/2 of the glaze and save the rest for dipping, along with some more ketchup!
7) bake for 45-50 minutes until edges brown. Cool for 10 minutes then remove and slice! Serve with dipping sauces and probably some potatoes.

20130227-141628.jpg

Leave a Reply

