smoky red lentil burgers with lemony garlic greens

This recipe came together based on a desire to use my Swiss Chard from my Eli’s Farms CSA box and the bag of red lentils I bought at Trader Joe’s that just stared at me from my pantry. Red lentils are great additions to soups as they are delicate and fall apart easily adding a thickness that I find welcome in a soup. But I hadn’t made any soup! So there they sat until Cara at big girls small kitchen posted the smoky red lentil burger recipe and said her favorite way to eat them was over garlicky greens! Amazing. But wait, the Internet did me one better because then Deb at smitten kitchen posted an amazing soft boiled egg and spinach toast (which you best BELIEVE I will be making ASAP) that inspired my version of garlicky greens with shallots and lemon (no cream here but definitely on the toast…). And I had planned to add an egg to my burger but got side tracked by the BABY AVOCADO that was too cute not to eat that very second:

20130410-085222.jpg

I can’t say enough good things. It’s nutrient dense and seriously delicious.

smoky red lentil burgers
Ingredients:
1 1/2 cup uncooked red lentils
1 6 inch Middle Eastern flat bread or half a pita, toasted, cooled, cut in eighths
1 carrot (2 small), grated
1 scallion, greens and whites chopped plus more to top
1-2 cloves garlic (confession I had to use garlic powder or I wouldn’t have had enough garlic for the greens! Turned out fine)
2 tsp smoked paprika
1/4 and 1/2 tsp sea salt
1 egg, lightly beaten (I did this on the side of the mixture before I combined it)
Most of the juice from half a like sized lemon or half a lime
3/4 tablespoon olive oil for burger mix and enough to cook the carrot/scallion/garlic and then the burgers
1 small avocado to top

Prep:
1) toast and cool your bread/pita while you bring a large pot of water to boil, add the lentils and 1/2 tsp salt and boil for 12 minutes till breaking apart
2) sauté carrots, scallion, and garlic for 10 minutes till soft then add paprika over the heat for another minute
3) strain the lentils and mush them around to get most of the water out
4) food process the bread/pita to crumbs
5) combine lentils, veggies, breadcrumbs, lemon or lime juice, 3/4 tbs olive oil, and egg
6) form 8 patties (in the bowl I made a circle with 8 parts like a pizza) and cool in fridge for 30 minutes
7) heat a cast iron skillet to medium and cover with olive oil. Cook patties 5-7 minutes in each side
8) serve how you like! I did an extra half slice of bread/pita for Nate (not me), lemony garlic greens, fresh scallions, and avocado

lemony garlic greens
Ingredients:
1 bunch greens (chard, kale, spinach), rinsed trimmed and thing stem removed
2 cloves garlic
Juice of half a lemon
1 shallot
Olive oil

Prep:
1) rinse your greens and toss them directly into a small pan (same one I used to sauté the veggies for the burgers)
2) let them get wilty over medium-low heat, remove
3) sauté shallot in olive oil until sweet (5 minutes) add garlic and cook a minute longer
4) add the greens and lemon juice and toss to combine and let work a few minutes
5) serve! A nutrient dense base for any burger or main dish of choice.

Needless to say these were totally consumed.

Enjoy

20130410-091203.jpg

Bonus! Throw a burger, some lettuce, some carrot, pickled curry garlic, cilantro, scallions, and some avo in a container, top with pepper and garlic olive oil – lunch is served!

20130410-122332.jpg

Leave a Reply

